A Heroic Year of Blockbusters

I confess. I’m hopelessly and unapologetically infatuated with super heroes!
Maybe it’s the fact that my entire childhood was spent with an ego fuelled disdain of mediocrity and the fact that I was picked on for relentlessly pursuing excellence.
Or at least that’s how I saw it.
Suffice it to say I admired those that rose to the challenges laid out by pure evil and through their genetic superiority, with which I imagined I could relate to well, saved the world and generally got the girl. (Something I struggled with until I discovered the wonderful world of the commercial gym).
And thus my desire to become a super hero became a legitimate life goal of mine, and I’m shameless to say still is.
My first-world troubled youth aside, this year is going to be a massive year for super hero fans, or geeks as we are affectionately known to those who don’t idolise grown men running around with their underwear over their pants.
With the likes of John Carter and the Ghost Rider sequel already in cinemas, and The Amazing Spiderman, The Dark Knight Rises and the next film to hit our big screens The Avengers, all on their way, it’s fair to say I will be needing a constant supply of new pants on hand for some serious opening nights mayhem.
The Avengers premiers in Australia on 25 April, two days before my mums birthday, and a far more important date in my calendar to be honest. (Which is massive because I really, REALLY love my mum! She’s awesome).
Written and directed by Joss Whedon and featuring an incredible cast of Iron Man, Captain America, The Hulk, Thor, Black Widow, Hawkeye, and a badass Nick Fury plus several well-known actors to boot this is definitely one to look forward to.
From watching the trailer (over and over and over) and the preview articles floating around in cyberspace it looks like Nick Fury, played by Samuel L. Jackson (heck I hope he says ‘ma fuckin’ a lot), has rounded up a gang of super heroes to help save the earth from the clutches of Thor’s evil half-brother Loki (Tom Hiddleston).
From what we get in the trailers, there appears to be a strong end of the world theme present, as seems to be the trend for Hollywood action blockbusters these days. Complete with cities being destroyed, the brave members of the US military risking their lives to save the rest of the world and Scarlett Johansson dressed in leather (hopefully for the vast duration of the film).
This promises to be everything we’ve come to expect from these franchise comic super hero adaptations. Action, mildly humorous one-liners, explosions, gadgets and gizmos, babes in skimpy outfits and more action are all on the cards.
I’ll be interested to see how Whedon brings the heroes together, all of them bar Hawkeye having their own Hollywood blockbusters already, or at least featuring in them. However, that said I’m sure whether it works or not, this will still be a huge hard on for super geeks around the globe and is set to be a major pant stretcher for this nerd!    
One thought on “A Heroic Year of Blockbusters

Leave a Reply

